Monday, February 3, 2014

The Seven Wonders Of The World

I'm sure we've all heard of the seven wonders of the world.  But here's something I didn't know.  While looking up "The Seven Wonders of the World" for this blog, I found out there are FOUR different sets of "Wonders":  The Original Seven Wonders, The Seven Wonders of the Modern World, Natural Wonders of the World, and The "New" Seven Wonders of the World.   I had no idea there were so many variations.  I truly thought there were only seven.

The Original are:  The Colossus of Rhodes, The Great Pyramids of Giza,  The Hanging Gardens of Babylon, The Lighthouse of Alexandria, The Mausoleum of Halicamassus, The Statue of Zeus at Olympia, and The Temple of Artemis at Ephesus.

The Modern are:  Channel Tunnel, CN Tower, Empire State Building, Golden Gate Bridge, Itaiper Dam, Netherlands North Sea Protection Works.

The Natural are:  The Grand Canyon, The Great Barrier Reef, The Harbor at Rio de Janeiro, Mt. Everest, Pariculin Volcano, Aurora Borealis, and Victoria Falls.

The New are:  Chichen Itza, Mexico - Mayan City, Christ the Redeemer Statue in Brazil, The Great Wall of China, Machu Picchu in Peru, Petra (ancient city), The Roman Colosseum, and The Taj Majal.

Now I'm going to offer another set of seven:  To see, to hear, to touch, to taste, to feel, to laugh and to love.  I don't know where I read this so I can't give credit.  But when I read this, it impacted me.  THESE, in my opinion, are the most important "wonders" that exist.  Without this set of wonders, you couldn't appreciate ANY of the others - or anything else for that matter.  Think about it.  We take so much for granted.

 We have been given much and we need to start noticing and appreciating what we have.  We can see the beauty around us.  We can hear the voices and laughter of our loved ones.  We can give and receive hugs and healing touch.  We can enjoy the taste of chocolate (or whatever your favorite taste is).  We can feel our emotions - good and bad.  We can laugh and love freely... and we should do that often.  These are the things that give meaning to our lives.  They give fullness to our lives.  We need to stop, notice, appreciate, and use these wonderful gifts.

When you give someone a gift, doesn't it make you feel good when you see them using it?  Doesn't it make you feel like giving them more because you know they appreciate your thoughtfulness?  Well, I believe God, Source, the Universe (or whatever you choose to call the all-that-is) would feel and do the same.  So use the gifts you've been given.  Appreciate them.  And just wait and see how many more blessings will come your way.

Love,  Paula

No comments:

Post a Comment